Curried Nada-Egg Salad Wraps

I almost entitled this post “Heat Wave Survival Food,” but I decided to call it by the name its creator, Kris Carr, gave it in her book, Crazy Sexy Kitchen.  Even so, I can tell you that it is, in fact, excellent heat wave food.  Here in the Pacific Northwest, we’ve been hit with record-breaking high temperatures and a distinct lack of moisture.  I can’t stand it.  Heat is my kryptonite.  So I’m on the lookout for tasty, nourishing food that doesn’t require any heat and won’t have a warming effect on my body.  This recipe did the trick.

Start by crumbling some firm tofu (a cooling experience in itself – tofu out of the ‘fridge is COLD.  Kind of wanted to roll around in it but refrained).

DSC_0009

Next, add in vegan mayo, finely diced green onion, grated carrot, chopped parsley, nutritional yeast, Dijon mustard, curry powder, sea salt and black pepper.  (Two notes:  all of the measurements are in the link below; the original recipe calls for cilantro as well, but that wasn’t speaking to me so I skipped it.)

DSC_0012

Mix it all together.

DSC_0013

Put some kind of wrap on a plate (I used a flour tortilla, which I slathered with more mayo; Queenie put avocado on hers) and spread a pile of tofu salad on it.  Top with watercress and sliced tomatoes.

DSC_0014

Tuck in, roll up and YUM!  Excellent news:  it’s just as good the next day, which means not only no heating up the kitchen, but no effort at all.  Just reach in the refrigerator and pull out lunch.  Yay.

http://kriscarr.com/recipe/curried-nada-egg-with-watercress-wraps/

Enjoy!  xo

Leave a Reply

