Spiralizing!! Not sure why I waited so long!

The other day, my friend Sera and I were hanging out and the subject of zucchini noodles made using a spiralizer came up.  I confessed that I’d owned a spiralizer for years and had yet to take it out of the box.  We decided that between the two of us, we could figure out how to produce a decent dish.

Fast forward to today… Queenie and I spent the day at Sera’s beautiful home, playing in the kitchen with her kids, and I’m happy to report that we produced a multitude of more-than-decent dishes and mastered the (very easy to use) spiralizer.  It’s one of my new favorite gadgets – so fun!

I have the Joyce Chen Spiral Slicer, and it worked great.  It was easy to put together and simple to use.  In no time, we were all taking turns producing perfect zucchini noodles.

unnamed-1

This particular gadget has two settings.  One produces a thinner noodle, more like angel hair.  We used this for the zucchini noodles.  The other setting produces a thicker ribbon-like strand.  Sera had the brilliant idea to spiralize some carrots, too, and we did those using the ribbon setting.  They provided a wonderful, crunchy counterpoint to the zucchini.

unnamed-3

We made three sauces.  From left to right we had an avocado, Brazil nut, mint pesto from Deliciously Ella; an heirloom tomato basil marinara from Living Raw Food by Sarma Melngailis; and the “Mac Cream,” an Alfredo-like sauce, from Juliano’s Raw:  The Uncook Book.

unnamed-2

We sampled a bit of each and absolutely loved them all.

unnamed-4Ultimately, my favorite sauce ended up being a combination… I mixed together the creamy Alfredo-like sauce with the marinara and WOW, it was heavenly.  But truly, these zucchini noodles would be fantastic with just about any topping.  I’m thinking of trying some kind of Thai peanut sauce, or the black pepper cream sauce I made with kelp noodles, or… the possibilities are endless!  And they’re not only delicious, but they’re raw and clean and make you feel wonderful after eating them.  And with this heat wave we’ve got going, they’re the perfect way to create a tasty, satisfying meal without turning up the heat.

And to cap off this fabulous meal, Sera made the most delicious strawberry shortcake of all time.  The strawberries were picked from her garden by the kids while we cooked, and she whipped up some coconut cream to top it.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

unnamed-5

Such a fun, delicious day with friends.  Now run out and get a spiralizer and let me see what you come up with!

Enjoy!  xoxo

6 thoughts on “Spiralizing!! Not sure why I waited so long!

  1. I just had zucchini noodles last week at Kristen’s house for the first time and then ordered my own spiralize her when I got home! I’m so excited and surprised at how delicious and fantastic and easy this all was! I’d love to snag the recipe for your Thai peanut sauce sometime… Yum-oh!

    Xo Hs

  2. I’ve been hemming and hawing over whether or not to buy a spiralizer; the part of me that survived the Great Depression (aka an imagined memory) suggests that my potato peeler works just fine for making vegetable noodles, but the part of me that loves a good gadget says to just fork out the dough and quit being so miserly. Today, the louder voice belongs to Madame Splurge. Can’t wait to create something(s) as tempting as what you’ve showed us here!

Leave a Reply

