Soba Bowl with Shiitake Dashi and Greens

For breakfast this morning, I made a new recipe from the Vedge cookbook by Rich Landau and Kate Jacoby.  If you’re not familiar with Vedge, it is a vegan restaurant in Philadelphia owned and operated by husband-and-wife team, Landau and Jacoby.  From what I’ve heard, it’s quite swoon-worthy.  I’ve never been, but I did get my hands on their cookbook – yay!

When I came upon this soba bowl recipe, I thought it sounded tasty, but I wasn’t thinking of it for breakfast until I read that the authors have it for breakfast most mornings.  Sounded worth trying.  I’m happy to report that it was delicious and a great way to start the day.  Queenie loved it so much that she put the extra portion in a thermos and took it as part of her school lunch.  Success!

The first step is to make the shiitake dashi.  It’s very simple and well worth doing (as opposed to buying some kind of mushroom broth).  I made it yesterday so it would be ready to go this morning.  SImply simmer dried shiitakes, tamari, kombu and water for about 20 minutes, during which time it will look like this:

Image

Once it has cooled, strain it and you will end up with a beautiful broth.

Image

Next step, prep and cook your greens.  Whatever greens you have on hand should do the trick.  I happened to have kale, so that’s what I used.

Image

A quick note:  the recipe suggested chopping the greens first, which I did.  However, since you’re going to blanch them and then remove them from the water (with either tongs or a sieve), I recommend chopping after you’ve removed them to make catching those little bits easier!  Now, on to the blanching…

Image

The greens will be done very quickly, in just a couple of minutes.  Once they are ready, take them out and set them aside.  Now pop the soba in to the same pot and cook according to package directions.

Image

I happen to like this brand, because it’s 100% buckwheat; it takes 8 minutes to cook.

Image

While the noodles cook, heat your dashi.

Image

Once the soba are done, drain them and assemble the dish:  drizzle a bit of sesame oil in the bottom of your dish and then place greens on top.  Put some soba on top of the greens and then ladle the dashi over everything.  Garnish with sesame seeds and little strips of nori (and scallions, if you’ve got them, which I did not – next time).  Voila!

Image

A really lovely, warming, clean, delicious plate of food, good any time of day!

Enjoy!  xo

2 thoughts on “Soba Bowl with Shiitake Dashi and Greens

Leave a Reply

