Veggie Delight

Sometimes I structure a meal around a main course, but sometimes I’m in the mood for an assortment of veggie dishes, more of a “side plate sampler.”  Yesterday, that’s what I whipped up for lunch and we all devoured the results.  Lots of simple dishes came together for one delicious feast.

Image

There was broccoli with garlic and red pepper flakes…

Image

… zucchini with fresh mint…

Image

… and for a contrast of color and a blast of sweet flavor, roasted yams.

Image

The star of this plate, for me anyway, was the roasted asparagus with wasabi mayo.  The asparagus is simply roasted with a little salt and pepper:

Image

It’s the wasabi mayo that elevates the dish.  I love this sauce so much I can pretty much put it on anything and be happy.  All you do is mix together Vegenaise, wasabi powder, soy sauce, lemon juice and a dash of something sweet (agave or sugar) to taste and voila – creamy yumminess.  I used about a cup of mayo, 2 teaspoons of wasabi (I love wasabi, so start with less), a few teaspoons of soy sauce, 2 teaspoons of lemon juice, and a quick drizzle of agave.

Enjoy!  xo

2 thoughts on “Veggie Delight

  1. Whenever I think of a veggie sampler platter it reminds me of what I normally get as the veg option at a restaurant! This looks and sounds way better!

Leave a Reply

