Muffin Mania

One of the most thoughtful, kind, wonderful people I’ve ever met happens to be one of my new Pacific Northwest friends, a woman I will dub Princess Kat (or Kat, for short).  Needless to say, I feel quite fortunate to have made such a terrific friend.  My gratitude for this connection deepened recently… when Queenie and I were stuck at home with a terrible case of the flu, Kat showed up on our doorstep with a warm, home-cooked meal at precisely the moment we needed it most.  It was incredibly delicious and centering and all-around lovely, just like its creator.

Once I was healthy again (thanks in part to that aforementioned meal!), I wanted to express my gratitude by baking Kat and her family a batch of muffins.  I turned to a healthy recipe (whole grain flour, no processed sugar) for pear ginger muffins, a recipe that I’d used successfully in the past.  As I made it, things seemed to be going well.  It’s a thick batter:

L1140595

and it yielded muffins that looked good and smelled good:

L1140596

 

I was in a rush and did not sample the muffins before dropping them by Kat’s house.  When I got home, I tasted one and was quite mortified by their consistency, which was more than a bit rubbery.  Not the thank-you that I was trying to create!

So this morning, I made what I dubbed the Redemption Muffins, otherwise known as my Banana Chocolate Almond Coconut Muffins (adapted from the Banana Carob muffins in Laura Matthias’ ExtraVeganZa book).  Thankfully, these turned out better.

photo 1

 

The dry ingredients for these muffins: spelt flour, baking powder and soda, sea salt and cinnamon.  The wet ingredients:  oil, sugar, vanilla extract, vanilla soy milk, mashed bananas.  The extra tasty ingredients folded in:  chocolate chips, coconut flakes, chopped almonds.  These muffins are for when you want to pull out all the stops, as they say.

photo 2

 

This recipe creates a delicious, moist, flavorful muffin that should make just about anyone who eats it happy.  I’m hoping that Princess Kat loved them and that they captured just a little of how fabulous I think she is.

photo 4

 

Enjoy!  xo

 

4 thoughts on “Muffin Mania

  1. Mmm! I tried a cookie recipe recently that came out very rubbery. I want to figure this out. I haven’t baked a lot in the past because it always seemed like stuff I shouldn’t be eating, but I want to master vegan baking. Bought a bunch of Bob’s Red Mill egg replacer thinking that that might help along the way.

    Love that you have the pour-spout Pyrex bowls. I assembled a mix and match set a few years ago, and I love them. I would like to give sets to everyone. The pour spouts are terrific not only for pouring but for getting a grip!

    • Hooray to mastering vegan baking! There are many, many wonderful cookbooks out there, created by people who have mastered it themselves. Normally, if you make one of those recipes, it should turn out great. There’s definitely a science to getting it just right. The weird thing about the pear ginger muffin fail is that I’d made them before and they were delicious. I wonder if the oven was the culprit in this case (used to have a great gas oven; now have a lousy electric one). Who knows.

      And yes – vintage Pyrex bowls!! I also have a bunch of Pyrex storage bowls and lids (the pre-Tupperware stuff that I love). Fun.

      • The peach muffins you treated me to were amazing, so I know it’s possible! Part of it is restocking the pantry so that everything doesn’t feel like a hurtle, like needing to go to the health food store, which is about 20 miles from my house to get arrowroot at the last minute!

        I have those rectangular Pyrex baking dishes with glass lids. Used one to make sun dried tomato polenta on the spur of the moment last week. Darling and useful too.

        Also, I invested in a set of new glass storage containers with snap on lids. Love them for transporting lunch and not having to transport food to another dish to heat.

Leave a Reply

