My New Favorite Salad

I made the “Kale Salad with Butternut Squash & Lentils” from Isa Does It the other day, and it was DIVINE!  Absolutely perfect.  And it’s super easy to make this healthy, tasty salad work for a mid-week meal with just a little planning.  In fact, that’s what I did.  On Wednesdays, I spend the day volunteering at Queenie’s school, and last Wednesday I made this salad for Queenie’s and my lunch.  Fun added bonus:  it smells and looks so delicious that everyone’s going to want some!  Bring this around your friends or colleagues and you’ll be an instant ambassador for vegan yumminess!  

The key to making this recipe come together quickly for either a packed lunch or a post-work dinner, as in my most cases, is to have the components prepared and ready to go.  Then, it’s simply a matter of quick assembly.  The night before our lunch feast, I cooked up some lentils . . .

Image

 

. . . and cubed and roasted some butternut squash.

Image

After cooling, I stashed both of these items in the fridge.  In the morning, I washed the kale, massaging and working it in the process.  Then I mixed up the vinaigrette, which is a combination of olive oil, white wine vinegar, agave nectar or maple syrup, Dijon mustard, fresh ginger and garlic, and salt (but you’ll need to purchase the book for exact ratios – I can assure you it’s a worthwhile investment!).  Once those ingredients are combined in a large bowl, you dump your kale in and work it for a minute or so.  As you do, you’ll feel it soften and see it take up less space, both of which mean it’s getting more pleasing and palatable.  Then, simply toss with the squash and lentils and you’re done.

Image

It may not seem that exciting, but it is.  That is, if you get excited about delicious, satisfying food like I do!  All I know is that it’s going to be in the heavy rotation around here.  Yum.

Enjoy!  xo

4 thoughts on “My New Favorite Salad

Leave a Reply

