Random Food from the Past Week

While most of my cooking energy during the past week focused on creating our Thanksgiving feast, we did need to eat at other times, too.  Thought I’d offer up a post of random meals, in the hope that it might inspire your own random meal.

The weekend before Thanksgiving, we were lucky enough to dine at Chez Daisy, the lovely home of Daisy and her wonderful family.  Daisy treated us to some delicious food, including the chili from Veganomicon and an insane white bean and tomatillo stew that she veganized from a local magazine.  SO good.  She also turned me on to the “Lemon Oil” recipe from Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Kitchen.  Seriously yummy.  I’ve eaten it at home several times since!  Even though her family isn’t vegan, she was kind enough to make sure everything she served that night was vegan.  How great is that?!?!  Naturally, I made sure that my dessert offering was 100% Daisy-friendly, too.  I brought the “Peach Berry Crumble” from Alicia Silverstone’s Kind Diet.  We heated it up at Daisy’s house and then served it with a variety of vegan, soy-free and gluten-free ice creams.  It was a hit!

Image

Queenie hosted a play date with two of her friends, and she crafted the menu for the day.  For lunch, we offered a Greek spread, featuring baba ganoush, dolmas from our local co-op deli counter, crackers and veggies.  For dinner, Queenie requested that I make the “Leek Cassoulet” from Veganomicon, and I was happy to oblige.  The girls devoured it!

Image

For lunch early last week, I decided to try the “Inner Beauty Patty Melt” from Annie & Dan Shannon’s Betty Goes Vegan.  I’m not entirely sure what possessed me to make this particular sandwich, since I’d never eaten a Patty Melt in my pre-vegan days, but something about the recipe spoke to me.  The cookbook authors themselves noted that this isn’t a particularly photogenic meal, lacking the striking colors of other recipes (it’s on the beige side), but it was darned tasty.  We all thoroughly enjoyed it, but as we were finishing up, Queenie rubbed her belly and noted that it’s a bit of a “gut bomb.”  She had a point.

Image

Finally, yesterday I threw together lunch before we ran out to a movie.  I went with the “Sunflower Mac” from Isa Does It by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.  I love trying different mac and cheese recipes, seeing how they differ from each other and what each brings to the mac table.  This one was rich and tasty, with a pretty hearty dose of garlic.  Isa was kind enough to point out that the sauce recipe makes more than needed to cover the macaroni and recommended steaming some kale to go with it.  Done!  YUM!!

Image

Wishing you a great week full of tasty meals!  xo

2 thoughts on “Random Food from the Past Week

Leave a Reply

