Product Review: Vegan Cuts Snack Box!

I was asked to review the Vegan Cuts Snack Box, which I was quite happy to do.  I had heard about Vegan Cuts but hadn’t checked them out yet.  I am so glad that I did.  They can count me as a new loyal customer!

First, in case you have no idea what Vegan Cuts is, let’s start with the basics.  Vegan Cuts is a company that offers monthly deliveries of vegan products that have been carefully selected for your enjoyment.  For $19.95, you receive a box of goodies, delivered right to your door.  You can opt for the Snack Box, which I received, or the Beauty Box, which I haven’t played with personally but which looks great on the website.  More on that in a moment.  The $19.95 includes shipping – yay.

The point of both of these boxes appears to be to turn people on to great products that they might not otherwise have been exposed to yet.  As a long-time vegan who loves to eat, I was quite amazed that out of the nine products I received, I had only heard of one!  It was great to be able to sample those products and add them to my list of items I want to keep in rotation around here.  And while most of them are likely to be readily available at your local veg-friendly grocer, Vegan Cuts also stocks a wide variety of them on their website in full-size portions.  I was happy to see this, as it would be a bummer to fall in love with something and then not be able to find it!

Before we dive into the contents of the box, I want to share with you something that has very much impressed me about my Vegan Cuts experience:  the customer service is phenomenal!  Before the box shipped, I received an email from Jill and John, the founders, informing me that it was coming and that they’d made a substitution.  They also sent out an email clarifying a packaging mistake that Harvest Snaps, the manufacturer behind one of the products, had made.  While the product is vegan, Harvest Snaps had mistakenly noted “Contains Milk” on the packaging.  Jill and John very kindly assured their customers that there is, in fact, no milk in the product.  Great communication.  I was even more impressed, however, when I hopped on the website to poke around.  I was on for a few minutes when a chat box opened up.  It was the aforementioned John, asking if I needed any assistance.  Cool!  He was super friendly and fun to chat with, and in fact I did have a question.  I had noticed that all of the items in my box were palm oil-free, which made me very happy, but I wondered if that was a coincidence or a policy, so I asked him.  I’m thrilled to report that ALL of their products are ALWAYS palm oil-free!!!!  Awesome.

So what did the November box contain?

Image

There were nine products in sample-sized portions, along with a complete list of the box’s contents and a couple of coupons.  It was a nice mix of sweet…

Image

… and savory…

Image

… plus some tea…

Image

… and some useful info.

Image

First, the sweet!  I cannot believe I’ve gone this far in my life without knowing about Michy’s cookies!!!!  Oh my.  The sample cookie was the “Pumpkin Eater,” a pumpkin spice cookie with chocolate chips.  It was absolutely divine, reminiscent of a delicious, home-made cookie, assuming whoever is making them in your home is a baking genius.  The consistency was moist as opposed to crispy, along the lines of Uncle Eddie’s cookies but WITHOUT THE PALM OIL!!!  I popped onto the Michy’s website and saw a variety of mouth-watering flavors, including cookies and brownies galore.  I will be trying them all.  http://michysfoods.com/

See those crumbs at the bottom of the bag?  They were too good to toss.  I fished them out and ate them, too.  Yes, I’m serious.  It was that good.

Image

Queenie and I both sampled the Barbara’s Organic Snackimals Cereal in Vanilla Blast, and we both gave it a thumbs up.  I tried it straight out of the bag, and it was tasty and crispy and not cloyingly sweet.  Then Queenie had a bowl of it to see how it held up with soy milk on it.  She loved the taste and said it stayed nice and crispy right to the last bite.  We don’t eat too many sugary cereals around here, but Queenie would be very pleased if I would bring home a box of Snackimals one of these days.  Added bonus:  cute animals on the packaging.

Image

On the healthier end of the sweet spectrum:  the Chocolate Coconut Bliss bar by Raw Revolution.  Consisting of just a few ingredients, this was a wonderfully pure and simple bar that reminded me of the raw cacao truffles I sometimes make.  I will be keeping one of these in my bag at all times!  Delish.

At first glance, I thought the ChickPz “Premium Roasted Chickpea Snacks” by Nutty Bean Co. were in the savory category, which is where I photographed them initially.  Call me crazy, but roasted chickpeas sound savory to me.  Upon closer inspection, I saw that the flavor is “Cinnamon Crunch,” and a review of the ingredients showed them to be squarely in the sweet camp (cane juice, vanilla, etc.).  I must confess that I was a little nervous to try these, as it sounds like a strange combination.  I am happy to report, however, that these crunchy goodies completely won me over.  They pack a nice cinnamon punch, being heavily coated with the spice, and have a really nice crunch to them.  A very pleasant surprise that I’m quite sure I would never have tried on my own.

Image

Finally, the one item in the box with which I was familiar:  the Sjaak’s Organic Chocolates caramel bite.  I have enjoyed Sjaak’s on many occasions and can recommend them whole-heartedly.  In fact, the caramel bite is Queenie’s very favorite of their flavors, so please don’t tell her that I ate it before she could get her hands on it.  Solely for research purposes, of course.

And now, on to the savory (all of which were gluten-free)…

First, our minds and taste buds were blown by the Snapea Crisps Black Pepper crisps.  Yeehaw!  If you like the original Snapea Crisps (which we do), I predict you will LOVE these.  They have the same fun consistency, but they have a wonderful savory kick from the black pepper that is just perfect.  Warning:  they are wildly addictive.

The MixtBag Yellow & Blue Corn Tortilla Chips from RW Garcia were quite tasty.  The yellow chips were nice and dense, while the blue chips were light and lovely.  Both were perfectly salted.  While they would be great with salsa, guacamole or hummus, I devoured the whole bag by itself!

The Multiseed Crackers from Crunchmaster were super crunchy, as billed.  I loved the ratio of sesame seeds, which was high, giving it a nice flavor.

The final entry in the savory category was the Cracked Pepper Baked Lentil Chips from Mediterranean Snacks.  They had a nice crispness and would be great for dipping, as I don’t think they’d break off in the dip.  They had a nice after-taste and are also gluten-free.  For pure snacking, though, we preferred the Snapeas, which are hard to top.

Finally, we enjoyed the Stash Spice Dragon Red Chai Tea.  Naturally herbal (no caffeine), this tea has a beautiful red color from the rooibos tea.  It is nicely spiced without being overpowering.  Perfect on an autumn or winter morning!

Image

As you can see, I thoroughly enjoyed my Vegan Cuts Snack Box experience.  The treats were tasty, and it was fun discovering so many new bits of yumminess.  And I really want to check out the Beauty Box!  I poked around on the website, and every month, subscribers to the Beauty Box receive at least $40 worth of products to sample in trial sizes, for only $19.95.  Pretty cool!  And all of the full-sized products are available for purchase on the site.

The people who make up the Vegan Cuts team are fantastic, making it a company I’m happy to support.  I encourage you to check it out, too, and can’t help thinking that not only will you enjoy it, but its snack or beauty boxes would make fantastic gifts for your friends and family!  http://vegancuts.com/

Enjoy!  xo

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Vegan Cuts Snack Box!

Leave a Reply

