Potluck Possibilities

It turns out that yesterday was the “Virtual Vegan Potluck.”  I’d never heard of it before, but after a flurry of posts from various people, I deduced that it was the rather fun idea of having vegan bloggers post about a dish that they would bring to a vegan potluck, should that vegan potluck occur.  There are lots of tasty suggestions, so check it out:  http://virtualveganpotluck.com/  

Yesterday was also the day that Mr. Man and I were invited to an actual potluck.  It was not of the vegan persuasion, but of course, my contributions were.  To make sure I had a variety of things to eat, I brought both an entree and a dessert.  The entree was the Baked Pumpkin Ziti with Caramelized Onions and Sage Crumb Topping from Veganomicon, although mine was technically baked gluten-free penne.  I’ve made this dish before for potlucks and it always satisfies.  It hits the spot on an autumn evening, with its luscious combination of sweetness from the pumpkin and caramelized onions and the savory crunch of the sage topping.  Yum.  It’s best straight out of the oven, but it holds up fine in a potluck setting.

Image

For dessert, I flipped to the back of Veganomicon and turned to a cake I’ve made on numerous occasions, the Coconut-Lemon Bundt Cake.  However, this time I made a few changes.  The host of the evening’s gathering, the lovely Daisy, has quite a few dietary restrictions, and I wanted to make sure she could partake of the cake, too, so I made it gluten-free and soy-free in her honor.  As I was working with the batter, I was not sure that it was going to work.  It was more gummy than typical cake batter, so much so that I almost threw it out, but I decided to go ahead and pop it in the oven to see what would happen.  After a bit, it started behaving more like a cake, rising and browning and doing its thing.  The finished product didn’t have the same delightful crumb that the wheat version does, but it had a nice crust and a moist interior.  And happily, there were others in search of gluten-free options, so I was glad to have conducted the experiment.

Image

 

Bringing vegan dishes to non-vegan gatherings is a great way to both ensure that you’ve got something to eat and share the vegan love.  You never know who you might inspire!

Enjoy!  xo

2 thoughts on “Potluck Possibilities

  1. It’s so inspiring to see the ways you make the recipes come alive! I have Veganomicon now, thanks to your recommendation. Also having fun going through the vegan potluck pages and pinning!

    • Hurrah, Sundry! I’m glad you’re having fun and exploring. My copy of Veganomicon is stained and dog-eared, the way a well-loved cookbook should be, and I don’t think I’ve ever made something from it that I didn’t love. I hope you are equally enamored with it as your cook your way through it! Maybe instead of Julie and Julia, Sundry and Isa??? xo

Leave a Reply

