A Happy Surprise

Yesterday, Queenie, Mr. Man and I headed out to Carnation, Washington to Oxbow Organic Farm.  It’s only a short drive and yet it’s a world away, out in the gorgeous countryside.  It’s a lovely spot, and it was an absolutely glorious day for our adventure.  Couldn’t have been more perfect.

Oxbow Farm was having a Hoe Down to celebrate the season.  There were tons of fun things for children and adults to do, including weaving flower wreaths for our hair, sampling fresh-pressed apple cider, wandering in mazes and picking pumpkins from an actual, giant patch.  This is quite different from the parking lot “patches” we had in LA!

The one thing I wasn’t counting on was vegan food.  I had heard there would be a food truck or two, but since that doesn’t always go well, I had some bars and nuts in my bag, just in case.  I am happy to report that I never needed to go to my stash, as there was a delicious and super vegan-friendly truck called Fez on Wheels with options galore.

Image

http://fezonwheels.com/

The people in the truck were very friendly and quite happy to walk us through what was already vegan and what could be “veganized.”  We ended up with a thoroughly delicious and satisfying feast, starting with quite possibly the best hummus of all time!

Image

Egyptian Ful Mudammas is a dish that I’d never heard of before but now love, love, love.  In case it’s new for you, too, here’s the official description from the website:  Whole And Mashed Beans, Tomatoes, Onion, And Fresh Cilantro And Parsley Spiked With Lemon And Toasted Cumin. Served With Flatbread.  And here’s me adding:  oh that flatbread.  SOOOO good.

Image

I don’t usually drink anything other than water with my meals, but the folks at Fez on Wheels make their own very unique sodas to order, so I tried the Saffron Rose and Mr. Man tried the Ginger Chili.  Wow.

Image

My doodle on the table sums it up:

Image

I love when you go into a situation expecting nothing and get your socks blown off!

xo

Leave a Reply

