Autumn Casseroles

The chill in the air has me craving two rather obvious things:  soup and casseroles.  I love a good casserole.  The wonderful smells emanating from the oven as it bakes.  The moment of pulling it out of the oven, the top slightly browned, the inside bubbly.  The complexity of flavors in that one dish.  Yum!

Tonight I’m going to make the Tempeh Shepherdess Pie from Veganomicon, which I already blogged about during Vegan MoFo:  https://kitwocky.wordpress.com/2013/09/08/vegan-mofo-8-tempeh-shepherdess-pie/

Yesterday, I made one of our very favorite mac-and-cheese recipes.  Thankfully, there are about a zillion different vegan mac-and-cheese options, so whatever mood you’re in, there’s likely a mac for you.  I’ve got a bunch of recipes that I enjoy, but I come back to this one again and again.  It’s the “Mac and Chard” from 1000 Vegan Recipes by Robin Robertson, and my book is literally splitting open along that page, that’s how many times I’ve made it.

The sauce is a wonderful combination of onion, garlic, a Yukon Gold potato, vegetable broth, cashews, lemon juice, Dijon mustard and spices (salt, pepper, turmeric and paprika).  The effect is absolutely delicious and super satisfying.

Image

I just got several leeks in our CSA box.  Next up:  Leek Cassoulet from Veganomicon.  Hurray for casserole weather!!

Enjoy!  xo

Leave a Reply

