The Final Day of Vegan MoFo!

Since today is September 30, the last day of the month, it is also the last day of the blogging whirlwind known as Vegan MoFo.  This was my first year participating, and I’m so glad I did.  Not only was the goal of blogging every single day a fun one to set for myself, it was a wonderful opportunity to be introduced to lots of other blogs and delicious recipes and kindred spirits.  Couldn’t be more pleased with how the month went.

Today also marks Queenie’s first day at her new school here in the Pacific Northwest.  It’s a big day for us.  We spent last year as “unschoolers” (or life learners, or whatever other label you want to use), traveling around and having fun in a decidedly unorthodox way.  Before that, our life was in Los Angeles.  So today feels really big and different and new and exciting.

Today’s post is about the food connected with this big day, namely the lunch I packed for Queenie’s first day of school.  I love packing lunch for her, making sure she is nourished in body (with the food) and spirit (with all of the love and hugs I pack with the food).  Today’s lunch:

Image

Since the weather here is quite different from LA, she requested that a warm soup be involved, so I made our favorite potato leek soup from the Moosewood Celebrates cookbook.  She also has home-made hummus and carrots from our CSA, crunchy green grapes, Earth Balance “cheesy” vegan popcorn, and a little bag of checkerboard cookies that we picked up at the Vegan Haven bake sale yesterday.  Finally, there’s a love note from me, so she knows I’m thinking of her, which I will be all day.

Thanks for following along during Vegan MoFo.  I look forward to staying connected, albeit more sporadically.

xo

4 thoughts on “The Final Day of Vegan MoFo!

  1. This was fun. Thanks for doing it, kitwocky. I have Veganomicon from the library right now and will preview some more before choosing a few new cookbooks to buy or ask for as gifts!

  2. Hey Sister… the potato leek soup from Moosewood is my favorite soup too!! Curious how you veganize it. This may not be the place to confess, I love it with the uber rich cream. Please share.

    • Just unsweetened soy milk, plus a bit more potato (since the uber rich cream is a bit more dense than the soy milk). They also make vegan creamers, which you could try, but I’m not a huge fan of those.

Leave a Reply

