Vegan MoFo 24: Rhubarb. Who knew?

I recently joined our local CSA, and we received our first box on Friday.  It contained an ingredient that I have never worked with before:  rhubarb.  Determined to put everything in the box to good use, I decided to do the obvious and make a strawberry-rhubarb pie, specifically the strawberry-rhubarb pie in Pies and Tarts with Heart by Dynise Balcavage (aka The Urban Vegan).  I only recently got this book, and this is the first recipe I’ve made from it, so it was a double gamble.  All I can say is:  jackpot!!  The pie was exquisitely delicious, much easier than I would have imagined (why did I think rhubarb was difficult to work with?) and a huge hit around here.  Bonus:  the cinnamon-rich crumble topping makes the baking aromas extra divine.

Step one:  make the crumble topping by combining brown sugar, flour, oats, margarine, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.  Mix it together and set aside.

Image

Next, make the filling by mixing together granulated sugar, flour, cornstarch, baking soda, cinnamon, ground ginger, rhubarb and strawberries.

Image

Fill a prepared pie crust with the filling, and then sprinkle on the crumble topping.

Image

Balcavage suggests covering the pie edges with foil to prevent over-browning.

Image

Remove the foil after about 20 minutes, and then continue baking until the top is nicely browned.

Image

I served the pie with a bit of “Vanilla Island” Coconut Bliss by Larry & Luna, and it was perfection.

Image

Can’t wait to try more recipes from this book and see what else may present itself in our next CSA box!

Enjoy!  xo

4 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 24: Rhubarb. Who knew?

  1. Oh my gosh, I grew up with rhubarb growing in the yard. LOVE it. I tried to grow it in my high desert yard and it collapsed. I never get enough of it to get past using it as pie filling or just as a sauce that I end up eating with a spoon.

    I wonder if coconut oil would work rather than margarine, even though I have some presumably heart healthy margarine.

Leave a Reply

