Vegan MoFo 17: Chocolate Banana Smoothie

I love smoothies, and this is one of my very favorites.  As I’ve tinkered with it over the years, I think what I’ve been trying to do is get it to taste as much like one of those chocolate-covered frozen bananas as I can.  You know, the ones you get at theme parks, frozen on a stick, covered in chocolate and nuts.  Yum.  This smoothie is kind of like that, only in a glass.

What I generally use:

Image

Frozen banana chunks are, of course, the key ingredient.  Just about everything else is flexible.  Here I’m using raw cacao powder, raw cacao nibs, raw maca powder, peanut butter (the kind that’s just peanuts, no sweetener) and unsweetened soy milk.  I don’t like things that are too sweet, but if you want a sweeter smoothie, I recommend adding either a pitted date or two or some date paste.  Other options: a drizzle of agave or a splash of stevia, but a little of those go a long way, so be careful.

Other things I add to this smoothie base:  frozen cherries, greens, green powder, frozen mixed berries, flax meal, protein powder – although not all at the same time.  You can also substitute whatever kind of nondairy milk you prefer. 

What you’ll end up with is a glass full of yummy!

Image

 

Enjoy!  xo

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 17: Chocolate Banana Smoothie

Leave a Reply

