Vegan MoFo 12: Side Plate Sampler

As you’ve undoubtedly experienced too, sometimes when I go to a banquet or event, the vegan dish is basically what I’ve dubbed the “side plate sampler.”  In other words, a lot of the sides from the other dishes thrown together without much thought.  Edible, but not exciting.

I decided to make my own version of a side plate sampler, but with a bit more thought, a lot more love and a hefty dose of deliciousness.  

Queenie was craving mashed potatoes, so that became the centerpiece.  I decided to try a new gravy recipe, and boy, am I glad I did!  It’s the “Rosemary Gravy” recipe from Dreena Burton’s Let Them Eat Vegan! book, and it’s everything gravy should be – wonderful taste, silky texture, lovely appearance.  The fact that it’s a cinch to make means this is going to be my go-to gravy recipe from now on.  Thanks Dreena!

I surrounded this mashed potato masterpiece with corn on the cob and some steamed green beans sprinkled with a little lemon juice.  Easy, fresh, tasty.

Image

Enjoy!  xo

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 12: Side Plate Sampler

Leave a Reply

