Vegan MoFo 10: Yum Sandwich

I wasn’t sure what to title this particular creation, as it is so much more than the sum of its parts.  To call it a “chickpea sandwich” would give the wrong impression, and a very limited one, although chickpeas are its main ingredient.  To call it a “mock tuna” sandwich, because it kind of looks like that, is wrong, too, because I’m not trying to make a tuna sandwich.  So I opted for the Yum Sandwich, because it’s really, really yummy.  Everyone likes it.  I hope you will, too.  Added bonus:  it’s crazy quick and easy!

Begin by draining and rinsing a can of chickpeas (I’ve got a double batch going in this pic), then dump it into your food processor.  Whir it around very briefly.  You still want it chunky, not a puree or paste.  If you don’t have a food processor, hand mashing works, too.  

Image

Next, add in a dollop of Vegenaise, and season with salt and pepper.  I often add sweet pickle relish at this point, but since I had some bread and butter pickles from the farmer’s market, I skipped the relish step, opting to put whole pickles on the sandwich instead.  I really like how the sweetness of the pickles plays against the chickpeas’ flavor.  If you are trying to recreate the feel of a tuna sandwich, you can add some sea vegetable flakes at this point, too, to give it a hint of brine.  Other options I’ve done in the past:  chopped red onion, shredded carrot, olives… your only limit is your imagination, but in truth, I really like this simple version.

Image

Now just assemble your sandwich.  I used a gluten-free bread for this one, but any bread will do.  Because there’s already a lot of Vegenaise in the mixture, I didn’t spread any on the bread, but you certainly could.  You could also add other condiments, if you’re so inclined.  Once you’ve got your bread how you want it, slather some mixture on there, and then top with whatever you want.  I used the aforementioned pickles plus some leaf lettuce.  Done.  But feel free to go as crazy as you want!

Image

Enjoy!  xo

Leave a Reply

