Vegan MoFo 9: Our Easy, Yummy Fried Rice Recipe

When I make rice, I tend to make extra.  It’s nice to have on hand to toss into salads, make into a porridge, or – and this is probably our favorite thing to do with it – whip up a batch of fried rice.  Queenie could eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

What I’m showing you here is the basic recipe I’ve come up with.  You can alter it with whatever you have on hand to your heart’s content.  It’s extremely flexible and forgiving.

Image

One thing you’ll always need:  some leftover cooked rice.  Any kind will do.  This happens to be jade pearl rice from the other day, but more often than not, it’s some kind of brown rice.  The other items in the above photo usually end up involved, but not always.  Like I said, this recipe is flexible.

Image

I generally start with a splash of peanut oil and then add to it whatever ingredient takes the longest to heat up (keep in mind that everything in this recipe is super quick, so in this case, the longest to heat up may only take 2 minutes!).  Queenie adores peas, so I always keep a bag of frozen peas in the freezer, and when we make this recipe, I’ll just dump a bunch in with the oil.  I’ve also been known to substitute edamame or lima beans.

Okay, this next pic isn’t the most attractive, but trust me – it tastes great!  The concept is, quickly marinated tofu.  I usually either chop up some firm tofu into cubes or, as I did here, scoop some silken tofu into clumps (Queenie asked for silken on this occasion), and then I let it sit in a combination of soy sauce, mirin, brown rice vinegar and ume vinegar just for a few minutes while the peas heat up.  I use a nice drizzle of the soy sauce, and just a splash of the others.  

Image

Once the peas are ready, add in the tofu and the attendant liquids.

Image

Heat that up for a moment.  I often add fairly finely chopped greens at this point (bok choy, chard and kale all work great), and just toss in the hot liquid for a few seconds.  I didn’t do that this time, but I definitely recommend it.  Next, dump in your rice.

Image

Just stir things around until the rice is heated up and everything’s nicely coated in your tasty sauce.  Next step:  eat!

Image

 

Not the most photogenic plate of food, but super quick and easy, a great way to use up leftovers and really, really tasty.  Yum!

Enjoy!  xo

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 9: Our Easy, Yummy Fried Rice Recipe

Leave a Reply

