Vegan MoFo – Day Five

Last night, Queenie and I biked down to our local farmer’s market.

Image

I love farmer’s markets, wherever I find them.  When I visit a new city, one of the first things I do is track down the local market.  I find it’s a wonderful window into the local culture and people, as well as a great place to pick up some tasty food.

I’m thrilled to have such a charming market close to our home.  As all of you probably know, farmer’s markets are a vegan’s best friend!  So much delicious, in-season produce – what more do you need?  Well, if you’re lucky, delicious prepared foods and all sorts of other goodies.

We sampled all of the dips at this wonderful spot.  Their entire product line isn’t vegan, but everything he had on hand yesterday was.  I let him know how much I appreciated it, of course.  We got several kinds of “hummless” (basically hummus but with lima beans instead of chickpeas), one with chipotle and one with habanero.

Image

Pickles!  I love pickles.  Sis at Purdy’s Organic Pickles loves them, too, and takes great pride in her creations.  You can feel the love in them.  We came home with pickled beets, pickled carrots, “bread and butter” pickles (the sweet cucumber kind) and classic dill slices.  YUM!

Image

Next stop, some pluots from Tiny’s Organics.  Wonderfully, deliciously tart.

Image

We added to our collection of stone fruit with these gargantuan Angelus peaches.  They are HUGE.  And delicious.  And already eaten.

Image

I wasn’t really in the market for mustard, but I saw a sign saying “World Mustard Champion,” and I do happen to love mustard, so we popped over to the Aldrich Farms stand and did a little sampling.  Wow!  Queenie got a jar of the award-winning variety (“Sweet ‘n Hot”), which she says she’s going to put on “everything,” while I picked up a jar of the “Apple Chipotle Mustard.”  Delish.

Image

Dahlias are one of my very favorite flowers.  These stopped me in my tracks.  They are now brightening my kitchen.  I know that Vegan MoFo stands for Vegan Month of Food, and technically these flowers have nothing to do with food, but I had to share anyway.

Image

And now for some prepared foods.  There’s a wonderful food truck, Falafel Salam, that features tons of vegan options, including hummus and super crispy falafel.

Image

Image

I was getting a little parched at this point and stopped in at Shen Zen Tea.  After sipping some of their Peach Peony (a white tea blend), I took a tin home with me.  So refreshing and delicate.  Really special.

Image

Our food didn’t just look tasty to us.  We had a lot of feathered visitors, who were cracking us up.

Image

Image

Aaaahhh, such a lovely afternoon.  After all that biking, wandering and feasting, we were ready to head home with our bounty and relax.  These ducks have the right idea!

Image

If you’ve gotten out of the habit of visiting your local market, go at once!  You won’t regret it.

Enjoy!  xo

6 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo – Day Five

Leave a Reply

