Vegan MoFo – Day Two

Today’s tasty morsel has something in common with yesterday’s:  it, too, is super quick and easy.  While I love busting out the labor-intensive recipes as much as the next person, I also appreciate those that come together quickly.  I want to make sure people have some great recipes for those times when you’re hungry and don’t have a lot of time on your hands.  This one fits the bill.

DIVINE BEAN PUREE, ARUGULA AND TOMATO SANDWICH

Image

This sandwich is perfect for this time of year, when tomatoes are luscious and perfectly ripe.  Their flavor is the driving force here, and the other ingredients are designed to sign backup to the tomato’s lead.

Here’s what I did…

First, you’ll want a great hunk of bread, whatever kind makes you smile.  I went with a classic baguette.  Slice that and splay it open.  On the bottom side, liberally slather the bean puree of your choice.  I recommend a white bean puree for this recipe.  I made one from navy beans, and I just added some lemon juice, salt and water.  Whatever kind of puree you make, I suggest a bit of acid to counter the big sweetness of the tomato (ume vinegar works great).  To make it even quicker, use store-bought hummus.

Now thinly slice your tomatoes.  I used heirloom tomatoes in a few different hues of orange, yellow and light red.  Layer those on top of the bean puree.  Sprinkle wild arugula over the tomatoes.  On the inside of the top layer of bread, I spread some Vegenaise, but only do this if it sounds as great to you as it does to me.

Voila.  Two seconds later, dinner is served.  Seriously yummy and seriously quick.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo – Day Two

Leave a Reply

