VeganMoFo – Day One!

I signed up to participate in VeganMoFo, pledging to share vegan yumminess with the world as often as possible during the month of September.  For more information on the concept, here’s a link:

http://www.veganmofo.com/

For my kickoff post, I’ve opted to go with something SUPER easy and quick.  Comes together in a flash and packs a punch of flavor.  All I can say is yum, which is appropriate because it comes from the cookbook Vegan Yum Yum by Lauren Ulm.  Specifically, it’s her Golden Chickpea and Artichoke Salad, and it’s so easy you’re going to do a happy dance.

The ingredients: Image

Yep, that’s it.  I actually doubled the recipe, so your stash may be even smaller.  Just chickpeas, artichoke hearts, fresh lemon juice, olive oil, salt and parsley.  You’ve probably got this stuff sitting around already!

Crucial step:  browning, to make everything extra yummy.

Image

Sizzle those chickpeas in the oil until they have just the right amount of singed edges, then dump them in a bowl and do the same thing to the artichoke hearts.

Image

Toss the chickpeas and the artichoke hearts with salt to taste, some parsley and fresh lemon juice.

Image

Here’s what you get:

Image

The photo in the cookbook is prettier, but the version I made tasted out of this world.  And I told you, it’s ridiculously easy!  Comes together in a flash.  We paired this salad with a simple green salad and a couple of dolmas that we’d picked up at the market, and voila, a delicious dinner in a couple of minutes!

Enjoy.  xo

15 thoughts on “VeganMoFo – Day One!

  1. lovely to make your acquaintance through vegan mofo, its my first year of participating. I do like chickpeas, so this recipe appeals to me. I don’t have a copy of Vegan Yum Yum, yet.

    • Hello Shaheen! Nice to meet you, too. I very much recommend Vegan Yum Yum. Great book! The heirloom tomato sauce is divine. Perfect this time of year, when tomatoes are at their peak. And again, super easy. Yay!

  2. Thank you. I am trying this tonight. I was wondering what to do, now I know. Basically any way to get chick peas in my mouth is a good thing. If my 8 year old likes this it will be win win!!

  3. Mmmm, lemon. yes, please! This sounds perfect and light and tasty. As it’s still insanely hot down here in FL I think it will have to try this. The only thing I don’t have is parsley. I wonder if I can’t change it up with some fresh cilantro. Happy MoFo’ing!

Leave a Reply

